Marriage Equality Bill

The Minnesota House passed the Marriage Equality Bill 75-59. This is an impressive number, almost 56% of representatives voting yes for the bill. And there is much excitement. My own excitement was a plethora of tears and something along the lines of this:

But when things like this happen, there is always a nagging sensation pulling at the excitement, saying, “No! You can’t be excited. Not yet!” And I get this feeling because of the OTHER people crying. The people who are crying because the bill passed and they didn’t want it to. The people who are crying because, “Omg, we’re going to allow those abominations to marry, we’re all going to burn in hellfire, how could our all loving God have let this happen.”

And I see these people. And I watch them on the news telling reporters what a difficult day it is for them, how this is the beginning of hard times, and I get ANGRY. Now, this may just be because I have anger issues. But really, I think I have a reason in this case. Don’t get me wrong, I am still excited, but there is this anger. This anger that there are people out there who are UPSET that so many of us are doing whatever we can to uphold equal rights.

All men are created equal. Except the colored and the gays. And there are still people who think like this. There are still people who think women shouldn’t vote and gays will burn in hell and blacks are a subspecies. There are still people who see a gay couple moving in down the street and think, “Well, there goes the neighborhood.”

And I don’t associate with these people but I’m so acutely aware they exist. Mere minutes after the news that the House passed the bill, a customer comes into my store. I ask her how she is and she says she’s just “terrible.” I sympathetically ask why and she says, “Those fags will be allowed to marry.” Trying not to let my anger or sense of justice get me in trouble here, I say, “I know. I’m very excited about it.” Honestly, I could have said worse.

But when it boiled down, taking the high road didn’t make me feel any better, and talking to this woman was still a needle poked into my rainbow shaped balloon.

And I want to become President of the United States for just one day so I can hold a press conference and just scream, “SEPARATION OF CHURCH AND STATE. GET ON IT.” Because that’s the real issue. That’s the real reason a very private matter has to be legislated in the goddamn first place.

Gay marriage is a private issue that should remain private. We’ve all seen the quote, “If you don’t like gay marriage, don’t get gay married.” And I am all for letting churches decide whether they marry gay couples. Churches can decide if they want to marry young couples or pregnant couples or whatever. And many, many churches would agree to marry gay couples. You just have to drive around and see all the rainbow flags in church yards to know this is true.

But no one should be able to vote on whether another person can get married. Gay marriage WILL NOT, I repeat, WILL NOT, in any way, shape, or form affect your life unless you are gay. Gays will take your unwanted babies and live their lives. They will go grocery shopping, have fights, make up, watch tv, go to their parent’s houses for Christmas and if you aren’t part of their family or a friend, how does any of this affect your life… oh, oh that’s right. It doesn’t.

And if your issue is religious. That’s your problem. Keep it to yourself. You don’t see people of the Jewish faith trying to legislate that no one can have pork or Vegan’s lobbying for a bill that insists people only eat soy. So be religious. I won’t go as far as to say I don’t care, because I do, but your religion has nothing to do with my government. Your opinions on the gay community need to stay between you and your god, because whoever he/she is, they’re not my god and they don’t get to tell me how to live my life. The fact a fictional man written about in a book gets to tell you how to live your life is really sad enough, if you think about it.

Brb, I have to go worship Gandalf now. Powerful man in a book who sends people on life-altering quests right? Why can’t I worship him? He even rose again after he died. Better, stronger, faster. He even stuck around for longer than 3 days.

So… so, that aside. I’m angry that people will forever be small minded, I’m angry about the lack of separation of church and state, but I am THRILLED that Today is the Day the Senate is almost guaranteed to pass the bill and then I will get attend a few key weddings.

So one last thing before I go, from the amazing book Will Grayson, Will Grayson. (I swear this John Green kick will be over soon. I am more of an obsessive personality than an addictive one.)

“I don’t want to screw you. I just love you. When did who you want to screw become the whole game? Since when is the person you want to screw the only person you get to love? It’s so stupid… I mean, Jesus, who even gives a fuck about sex?! People act like it’s the most important thing humans do, but come on. How can our sentient fucking lives revolve around something slugs can do?”

(I apologize for the lateness of this, I know I said I’d post it on Saturday. Thursday will be about the word Nerd.” )

One thought on “Marriage Equality Bill

  1. Great post! I think it makes me more sad than angry that there are still so many people who think the same way as the customer who walked into your store. You handled the situation well, though.

    You’re right that there is still a lot to be sad and angry about, and a lot of work to do. But today we saw a wonderful step forward, and I think it’s okay to take a little break and celebrate it for a moment. 🙂 Congratulations, Minnesota!!!

Leave a Reply

