Mac & Cheese

This is going to be a silly little post because (and not to get too emotional or involved on you guys) if I don’t write something I am going to figuratively rip someone’s/thing’s head off. I am having a bad day. So I am going to write about friggen Kraft Macaroni and Cheese.

I was perusing the “Boxed Dinner” aisle at my local grocery store, wondering what to eat for dinner when it dawned on me, “I want Macaroni and Hamburger.” So I position myself in front of the blue boxes, about the grab the “Original” when something catches my eye:

cheese

So I pick it up along with the original and compare them side by side.

Original Label:

cheese 2

mac_and_cheese_facts

Whole Grain Label:

whola grain

I apologize for the difference in sizes… it was the best I could do on short notice.

So let’s analyze this:

Calories: Whole Grain has a WHOPPIN’ 20 calories less per serving

Total Fat: Both claim 3.5 grams

Cholesterol: 15mg a piece

Sodium: 10mg MORE sodium in the more expensive Whole Grain Version

Carbs: Whole Grain has the same amount of Sugar but 4 more mg of Dietary Fiber, which seems to be where those 29grams of Whole Grain are going

Protein: Whole Grain boasts one gram less of protein, probably thinking it’s hefty dietary fiber numbers make up for it

Vitamins: Whole Grain version gives you more vitamins, we can see that from the only vitamin visible in both pictures

Why don’t I know more about the vitamins, you ask? Why don’t I have full product nutrition on both items? Because Kraft doesn’t have the option of looking up the nutritional value of the mac & cheese. There are many other products you can find this information on such as A.1., Cheez Whiz, and hot dogs. Why isn’t the product that Kraft is most known for not listed? Is it because there is controversy over the ingredients? Is it so a blogger like me would have to go to the damn store to get a full label? I don’t get it.

But back to the matter at hand. Why buy Whole Grain over the Original Kraft Mac & Cheese? More dietary fiber to keep you fuller longer and a small amount more vitamins. But you’re still packing on the calories, fat, sodium, and carbs plus it’s more money. All those “29 grams of whole grains” seem to be doing is tricking the consumer into spending more money and thinking they are eating healthier because they slapped a healthy sounding phrase on the front of the package.

And maybe you didn’t know that according to FDA rules, the only part of the packaging that has to be 100% truthful is the nutritional label. Companies can slap whatever propaganda they want on the front of the package to fool you into buying it. And let’s face it, if you’re planning on buying and eating macaroni & cheese, it’s not part of a healthy diet. That’s like people who get Big Macs and diet coke or get the whole grain tortilla at Chipotle.

It always comes down to the same thing, if you want to be healthy, don’t eat processed foods. The more food you eat without nutritional labels the better of you are.

Leave a Reply

